coolingrack

Vegan and Gluten-Free Flax Bread

I have declared on social media that the world is a safer place now that I know how to bake bread. I recently discovered I cannot have dairy (eggs or milk), and I was going snaky not being able to eat bread. Thankfully, I found a soft sandwich bread recipe from Art of Gluten-Free Baking.  I adapted it for my intolerances and I just love it. Thought I would share my recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 2 1/4 tsp of active dry yeast
  • 3 cups of Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 2 tsp of xantham gum
  • 4 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 flax eggs (each egg is 1 tbsp of ground flax seed plus 3 tbsp water)

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2.  Place milk in a microwave safe bowl and just warm the milk. (For me it was about 1 min, 30 sec.)

3.  Add 1 tbsp of honey, and stir until dissolved.

4.  Whisk in yeast and set aside to proof. The yeast will get foamy if it is active.

yeast
Yeast that is proofing

5. In a large bowl, mix the flour, xantham gum, baking powder, and salt.

6. In another large bowl, blend “flax eggs”, olive oil, vinegar, and 3 tbsp of honey.

7.  Add the yeast mixture to the wet ingredients. Stir to blend.

8.  Add the flour mixture, and blend with a fork until you have a thick batter (it was just about a minute for me).

9. Pour batter into a 5″x9″ pan. Wait about 30 minutes for the batter to rise in the pan. ( I only let it rise to the top of the pan, or a hair over.)

waitingtorise

10. Bake for 20 minutes. Check. Cover with foil (I used another bread pan because I was out of foil), and bake 10 more minutes.

11. Let the bread cool for 5 minutes, and then carefully remove it and put it on a cooling rack. (Be smart and use oven mitts. I am the queen of burning myself.)

Voilà! I found it pleasantly moist. I sliced up my loaf and put it in the freezer, after I refrigerated it for a few hours. Then I would take what I needed from the freezer and toast it. :)

coolingrack

Be sure to double-check your ingredients to make sure they are right for you and your family. See my dislcaimer.

Leave a Reply

